User Tools

Site Tools


Awards and Scholarships

Actuarial Awards

Each year, Department of Mathematical Sciences offers several actuarial awards to outstanding students having passed actuarial exams.

  • The Miguel Arcones Memorial Awards. This actuarial award is to honor the memory of the late Professor Miguel Arcones. It recognizes and rewards a graduating senior who has demonstrated academic excellence in the Department of Mathematical Science, especially in the actuarial program.
  • The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America Awards. This actuarial award is endowed by the Guardian Life Insurance Company of America. The intent of this award is to recognize and reward outstanding undergraduate students who have interests in the field of actuarial science.
  • The Swiss RE Actuarial Award. This actuarial award is endowed by the Swiss RE Life & Health America Inc. The intent of this prize is to recognize and reward an outstanding undergraduate student who has an interest in the field of actuarial science.

All awards entail cash awards (upon availability) and certificates of recognition.

Selection Procedures

The candidate will be selected by the chair of Department of Mathematical Sciences after consultation with his or her colleagues.

Recent Awardees


Besides actuarial awards, the following is a list of scholarships, which actuarial majors can apply.

  • Actuarial Diversity Scholarship, information available at The Actuarial Foundation; an award of \$2000 - 3000; promotes diversity through an annual scholarship program for Black/African American, Hispanic and Native North American students. Applicants must pursue a degree that may lead to a career in the actuarial profession.
  • CAS/SOA reimbursement program: granted by the CAS/SOA; CAS/SOA Committee on Actuarial Diversity is offering a reimbursement program rewarding those Diversity students who pass Exam P/1 and/or FM/2. Diversity students - African North American, Hispanic, or Native North American - who pass Exam P/1 and/or Exam FM/2 will be reimbursed for the fees for the passed exam.
  • CAS Trust Scholarship: granted by the Casualty Actuarial Society; Three annual \$2,000 scholarships to students interested in the property/casualty actuarial profession.
  • Casualty Actuaries Of Greater New York (CAGNY) Scholarship, information available at CAGNY; An applicant must have demonstrated high scholastic achievement and strong interest in pursuing an actuarial career in the property/casualty insurance industry. Preference will be given to applicants native to the Greater New York area or attending universities in the Greater New York area.
  • Ezra Penland Actuarial Scholarship: granted by Ezra Penland Actuarial Recruitment; The \$500 scholarship will be awarded to a full-time undergraduate student who: Completed at least one actuarial exam; Demonstrated leadership abilities; Scholastically accomplished (3.0/4.0 minimum); Full-time Undergraduate at an accredited US- or Canadian-based university; Member of The Entry-Level Actuary group on LinkedIn.
  • Insurance Scholarship Foundation of America Scholarships / NAIW College Scholarship, granted by The Insurance Scholarship Foundation of America; range from \$500 to \$5,000.
  • International Association of Black Actuaries Foundation (IABA Foundation) scholarship: granted by the The IABA Foundation; \$3000-5000.
  • John Culver Wooddy Scholarship: granted by The Actuarial Foundation; \$2,000 merit-based scholarship for actuarial undergraduate students. Eligibility Requirements: college seniors who have successfully completed at least one actuarial examination, rank in the top quartile of their class and are nominated by a professor at their school.
  • Max Weinstein Memorial Scholarship, information available at The Adirondack Actuaries Club. Annual award for college freshmen, sophomore or junior who is pursuing postsecondary education at an accredited college or university to study the field of Actuarial Science. Applicant must have passed at least one Actuarial exam. Preference will be given to Albany, New York residents. Award amount varies.
  • Mutual of Omaha Actuarial Scholarship for Minority Students: granted by the Mutual of Omaha.
  • S. C. International, Ltd. Actuarial Scholarship program, information available at S. C. International, Ltd.; offer one \$1,000 and one \$500 scholarship for each of the Fall and Spring Semesters, each year.
  • Actuary of Tomorrow-Stuart A. Robertson Memorial Scholarship: granted by The Actuarial Foundation; an award of \$7,500 for education expenses at any accredited U.S. educational institution. Eligibility Requirements: a full-time undergraduate student entering as a sophomore, junior or senior, must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 (on 4.0 scale) and must have successfully completed two actuarial exams.

Another opportunity is The Society of Actuaries James C. Hickman Scholar program, which was established to increase the number of academic actuaries who hold a PhD and an actuarial designation, and who intend to pursue academic careers in the United States or Canada.

There exists a list of scholarships for undergraduate students at Be an Actuary..

actuary/awards_and_scholarships.txt · Last modified: 2021/08/31 21:47 by qiao