User Tools

Site Tools


people:chrisneo:lafall14.html

Math 304 Linear Algebra (Section 02)

Time and Room: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:00-1:00 pm in SW 323 and Thursday 11:40 am-1:05 pm in EB R15

Instructor: Christoforos Neofytidis
Email: chrisneo “at” math “dot” binghamton “dot” edu
Office: Whitney 202
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00-12:00 and Thursday 1:30-2:30

Main Textbook: Linear Algebra, M. Brin and G. Marchesi, 13th edition, 2014
Supplementary Textbook: Beginning linear algebra, Seymour Lipschutz, Schaum's Outlines Series, McGraw-Hill

Evaluation: The final grade will be determined as follows:

  • Section Grade 30%
  • Two midterm exams, each worth 20%
  • Final exam 30%

The two midterms and the final exam are common for all sections and are scheduled as follows:

  • Midterm 1: Thursday, October 2, 7:30-9:00 pm in AA G08
  • Midterm 2: Thursday, November 6, 7:30-9:00 pm in AA G08
  • Final exam: Thursday, December 18, 5:40-7:40 pm in LH 008

For the Section Grade there will be about 8 quizzes. Each of them will count for 6 points. At the end of the semester the sum of the points of the five quizzes with the highest score will determine the Section Grade. The quizzes will take place during regular class hours. The dates will be announced in the class and here:

  • Quiz 1: Wednesday, September 10 (Sections 1.1-1.4)
  • Quiz 2: Friday, September 19 (Section 1.6)
  • Quiz 3: Friday, October 10 (Sections 3.3-3.4)
  • Quiz 4: Thursday, October 16 (Section 3.5)
  • Quiz 5: Wednesday, October 29 (Sections 4.1-4.4)
  • Quiz 6: Friday, November 14 (Section 4.8)
  • Quiz 7: Monday, November 24 (Sections 5.1-5.3.3)
  • Quiz 8: Monday, December 8 (Sections 5.3.4-6.2.3)

For the course schedule and other important information (such as make-up exam policy, etc) refer to the Course Syllabus which is common for all sections. Here you can find a complete list with all sections and instructors and announcements that are common for all sections.

people/chrisneo/lafall14.html.txt · Last modified: 2014/12/04 19:18 by chrisneo